About CIC

Better. Together

CIC TV Commercial Screenshot

Watch the 30-second Big Ten Network commercial.

Video Overview

Decorative image

Watch a 4-minute video overview of the CIC.

CIC News

Decorative image

See a sampling of the latest CIC news.

Headquartered in the Midwest, the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) is a consortium of the Big Ten member universities plus the University of Chicago. For more than half a century, these world-class research institutions have advanced their academic missions, generated unique opportunities for students and faculty, and served the common good by sharing expertise, leveraging campus resources, and collaborating on innovative programs. Governed and funded by the Provosts of the member universities, CIC mandates are coordinated by a staff from its Champaign, Illinois headquarters. 

CIC Member Universities:

  • University of Chicago
  • University of Illinois
  • Indiana University
  • University of Iowa
  • University of Maryland
  • University of Michigan
  • Michigan State University
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Northwestern University
  • Ohio State University
  • Pennsylvania State University
  • Purdue University
  • Rutgers University
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison

The CIC compiles data from its member institutions including demographics, expenditures, faculty information, and rankings.